Task List 1

I recently came across this blog post about publishing a task list online.  While I am slightly uncomfortable with the focus on productivity – if only because I tend to think that the best philosophy happens if one engages with philosophy for its own sake rather than for the sake of productivity – I still find the notion of a public task list appealing. Here are a few reasons that speak in favour of it:

  1. It might help me to structure my own work better.
  2. Some reader might have helpful comments for how to accomplish a task.
  3. Transparency: My PhD is funded by WRoCAH i.e. by public money. If you are reading this in the UK, your tax money.

My task list is not supposed to be exhaustive. It will be much more general than the online task list I have been inspired by. In particular I will limit myself to what I take to be the major tasks I face within my philosophical work.

The plan is that I will update it roughly once a week, stating which tasks have been accomplished, which still need to be accomplished and which are new.
A First Task List:

  • Finish redrafting chapter 3 of my thesis.
  • Finish redrafting chapter 4 of my thesis.
  • Complete conference submission.
  • Completely re-read Brian Epstein’s The Ant Trap for my visit to Tufts University.
  • Practices calculating with matrices to better understand certain texts in the social sciences using statistics.
Leave a Reply

